Posted by: brookeblerdahl | April 9, 2011

Barefoot Running

As I mentioned before, my husband Grant is a triathlete.  A little after we first got married, I came home to find him cutting his shoes up.  When I asked him what in the world he was doing, he explained-he was cutting some of the padding out of the heels of his shoes because he was trying to reduce his “heel striking”-where you run and your heel hits the ground first.  Then he told me a lot of people run without shoes at all-I thought he was crazy, but I didn’t know anything about running.  Then I went to the BYU indoor track and saw a girl running without shoes.  So I thought it would be interesting to learn a little about barefoot running.

One webpage gives this description:

“Check it out…

Look at the illustration below. When a runner strikes the ground wearing running shoes, the positive heel (all that foam/air/gel cushioning) causes him/her to heel strike, then ‘roll’ and push off. This is NOT how our body is designed to run. Look at the runner on the right. When you’re barefoot (or nearly barefoot) you will land gently and feel the ground below your feet. This is very important to be a healthy and injury-free runner. Now you try! Run 20 yards in your runners, then do the same barefoot. Have someone watch you just in case you fall over from glee!”

So maybe if you’re interested in running, give barefoot running a try.  However, there are steps you have to take to avoid injuries. Barefootrunner.com has a lot of good articles on this technique. Here is a page that gives you tips to get started: http://www.barefootrunner.com/barefoot-101/

Also, if anyone does barefoot running or has an opinion on it, feel free to post! I’d love to learn more about it.

Responses

  1. That sounds like it would be fun to try! I love not wearing shoes.

  2. My friend really enjoys barefoot running but I don’t know that I could ever try it. Maybe I’m wrong, but I thought when you run your foot is supposed to hit the ground flat. I started running my a few years ago when I came out to school and that is what my friend taught me. I found it really helps reduce joint and foot pain. Also having shoes that are fitted correctly makes a huge difference too. Your running shoes should be a size larger than your regular size so that when you run and your feet swell there is less discomfort, it also reduces shin splints.


Leave a Reply

Categories

